EAA Inducts Five Into Halls Of Fame

Mary Jones, Picture Courtesy Of EAA

EAA Honors Five Aviators With Halls Of Fame Induction

Mary Jones, Picture Courtesy Of EAA

EAA AVIATION CENTER, OSHKOSH, Wisconsin — The Experimental Aircraft Association will recognize the contributions made to the world of flight by five people as they will be inducted into the EAA Sport Aviation Halls of Fame on November 9 during a ceremony at the EAA Aviation Center in Oshkosh, Wisconsin.

The five inductees represent a spectrum of aviation within the EAA community and have achieved notable successes within their particular realm of flight:

  • EAA Homebuilders Hall of Fame: Rob Hickman of Canby, Oregon
  • International Aerobatic Club Hall of Fame: Frank Christensen of Wilson, Wyoming
  • Warbirds of America Hall of Fame: Clarence E. “Bud” Anderson of Auburn, California
  • EAA Ultralight Hall of Fame: Mary Jones of Oshkosh, Wisconsin
  • Vintage Aircraft Association Hall of Fame: Jim Moss (posthumous)

The EAA Sport Aviation Halls of Fame were established to honor the outstanding achievements of men and women in aviation who share the spirit of EAA and its community. Those inducted into the hall of fame are selected by their peers for myriad contributions made to their respective areas of aviation.

In addition, Lon Nanke of Oshkosh will receive the Henry Kimberly Spirit of Leadership Award for his efforts on behalf of EAA and the local community. Nanke, a World War II veteran, has been a longtime EAA Aviation Museum docent and has taken the lead as a volunteer for numerous museum programs.

Tickets for the induction banquet and ceremony are available at www.eaa.org/HallOfFame.

About EAA

EAA embodies The Spirit of Aviation through the world’s most engaged community of aviation enthusiasts. EAA’s 200,000 members and 900 local chapters enjoy the fun and camaraderie of sharing their passion for flying, building and restoring recreational aircraft. For more information on EAA and its programs, call 800-JOIN-EAA (800-564-6322) or go to www.eaa.org.